Mastering Self Discipline for Fitness & Business Success

Stop getting in your own way!

Learn from My Story…

Three years ago, I was at the peak of my game.

Competing regularly, making weekly book sales, and thriving in my endeavors as a martial artist, public speaker, coach, and trainer. The momentum was undeniable, and I felt unstoppable.

This wave of success continued until mid-2022 when I hit a stagnant stage in my life. It was a period that saw me drift away from my goals, leading to a slow but noticeable decline. Patterns from my past began to resurface, and I found myself grappling with the same issues that had hindered me before.

Here’s how I’ve overcome my self sabotage from my past & how I’m progressing to rebuild that momentum going into the future.

Analyze Your Past, Find Connections, and Take Accountability for Your Actions

During this time of stagnation, I realized that I had been focusing on the right things but at the wrong time. My mind was preoccupied with dating and trying to find the perfect partner to start a family with at 25.

These are the typical dreams instilled in us since childhood: go to school, join the military, get a “good” job, and start a family.

However, my primary focus should have been on investing all my energy into the momentum I was building as a martial artist and writer.

What helped me become more aware of my past and find these connections was fasting. By abstaining from food, my mind cleared, allowing me to think properly and reflect deeply. I began to see that we are often quick to blame others or external situations for our lack of progress.

However, in reality, we are responsible for 90% of what happens in our adult lives.

If you’re not in shape, it's because you choose eating out over going to the gym.

If you’re stuck in a 9 to 5 job, it's because you choose “security” overtaking a challenge that could grant you the desired freedom.

Our lives are a result of the actions and choices we make on a daily basis. Understanding this is crucial to mastering self-discipline and achieving success in fitness, business, and beyond.

There Are Two Ways to Master Discipline in All Areas of Your Life

The first way to master discipline is to recreate yourself.

In Robert Greene’s book, "The 48 Laws of Power," Law 25 is all about recreating your image. This means not accepting the roles or perspectives imposed upon you by society. Instead, you should create the version of yourself that your spirit calls you to be. Develop a spiritual connection with yourself and your higher power to guide your actions.

As humans, we are often guided by our flesh, which leads us to a lower vibration of living.

By operating in spirit, you start acting, moving, and shaping yourself and the world around you in a way that brings forth the life you were called to live. If necessary, go to extremes to achieve this transformation. Change your hairstyle, vocabulary, the way you dress, and most importantly, the way you think.

Embrace the spirit and allow yourself to be reborn into a new person who will create the life you’re destined for. This spiritual awakening and recreation of self are pivotal in mastering self-discipline.

They allow you to break free from past patterns and societal expectations, paving the way for a more focused and determined approach to achieving your goals.

The second way to master discipline involves setting clear, attainable goals and creating a structured plan to achieve them. 

This requires a deep understanding of your priorities and a commitment to making the necessary sacrifices. For instance, if your goal is to become a successful entrepreneur, you must be willing to invest time and effort into your business ventures, even if it means foregoing short-term pleasures.

Conclusion

Mastering self-discipline is a journey that involves analyzing your past, taking accountability for your actions, and making a conscious effort to recreate yourself.

By doing so, you can overcome self-sabotage and unlock your full potential in fitness, business, and all areas of life. Remember, the key to success lies in the daily choices you make and the commitment to stay true to your goals and aspirations.

Embrace the challenge, and let your spirit guide you to the life you are meant to live.

~
RastaRiek | The Martial-Preneur

P.S.: You can check out my book Afrikan Warrior Wisdom: Martial Arts Philosophy for Self Improvement Vol. II if you want a martial arts perspective on self-discipline and how to recreate yourself. It’s available on Amazon, just click the highlighted title!

About the Author: 

RastaRiek, also known as The Martial-Preneur, is a dedicated martial artist and entrepreneur committed to helping fellow martial artists succeed both on and off the mat. Through his newsletter and coaching services, RastaRiek empowers martial artists to turn their passion for martial arts into a thriving business, following in the footsteps of legends like Bruce Lee.